Virtual Meeting FAQ

Do you have a question which is not addressed below? Please contact us.

This FAQ will be updated as more information becomes available.

I have booked a room with the Crowne Plaza. Will my reservation be cancelled automatically?
No, the Crowne Plaza cannot cancel your booking without your instruction. Please telephone the hotel on +1-847-671-6350 to cancel your booking. There is no cancellation fee.

Now that the meeting is virtual I would like to submit an abstract. Can I do this? 
Yes!  Abstract submission has been reopened for a limited time to allow authors who wish to participate now that the meeting will be held online. The new abstract submission deadline is May 31, 2020. No further extensions will be available. 

I do not wish to participate in the virtual meeting. What do I need to do?
Please visit open conf and withdraw your abstract by Friday May 15, 2020. Abstracts not withdrawn by this date will be scheduled into a session. 

How to withdraw your abstract

1) Visit https://www.openconf.org/cryo2020/openconf.php
2) Click ‘Withdraw abstract’ under the Author Menu. You will be prompted for your submission ID and password.
3) Click ‘Withdraw Submission’

If you have forgotten your submission ID you can enter your email address to receive an email containing all submitted abstract titles and submission IDs.

We are anticipating additional demand for oral presentations now that the meeting is being held virtually so we appreciate your prompt abstract withdrawal. 

How much will it cost to register?
All prices are listed in USD.

Society for Cryobiology Members: $50
Non-Members: $145
Society for Cryobiology Student Members: FREE
Invited and Plenary Speakers: FREE
Members/Non-Members from Exempt Countries*: FREE

*Proof of residency required 

When will registration for the virtual meeting open?
Registration for the virtual meeting will open soon. Please check the CRYO2020 homepage for the current registration status.

I have already registered for the meeting. Will I receive a refund?
We will contact all registered delegates to arrange a full or partial refund of your registration fee, depending on whether you wish to participate in the virtual meeting.

When will the meeting take place? 
The meeting will take place July 21-23, 2020 from 8:00AM – 12:00PM daily US/Pacific time, comprising a total of 12 hours of live session Q&A and discussion. 

Please be sure to check your local time using this converter.

Timezones 

North America
Pacific Daylight Time: 8:00 AM – 12:00 PM 
Mountain Daylight Time: 9:00 AM – 1:00 PM
Central Daylight Time: 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM
Eastern Daylight Time: 11:00 AM – 3:00 PM

Europe   
British Summer Time: 4:00 PM – 8:00 PM
Central European Summer Time: 5:00 PM – 9:00 PM
Moscow Standard Time: 6:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Asia/Pacific 
India Standard Time: 8:30 PM – 12:30 AM 
China Standard Time: 11:oo PM – 3:00 AM 
Japan Standard Time*: 12:00 Midnight – 4:00 AM 
Australian Eastern Standard Time*: 1:00 AM – 5:00 AM 

*Note – Meeting dates in JST and AEST are July 22-24, 2020. 

Middle East 
Gulf Standard Time: 7:00 PM – 11:00 PM
Iran Daylight Time: 7:30 PM – 11:30 PM

South America 
Brazil Time: 12 Noon – 4:00 PM 
Chile Standard Time: 11:00 AM – 3:00 PM

How will the virtual meeting be run? 
All oral and poster presentations will be pre-recorded (powerpoint and recorded audio narration) and available to view by registered delegates in the week before the virtual meeting. Each session will have a live, moderated Q&A/discussion which will include each session’s presenting authors.

A discussion thread for each presentation will be available in the event app, Whova, for delegates to ask questions and/or discuss the presentation before, during, and after the meeting. 

I’m a presenting author. Do I have to register for the meeting if I do not wish to take part in the live sessions? 
All presenting authors are strongly encouraged to take place in their live session. Regardless of live participation, you must register for the meeting in order for your presentation to be uploaded and viewed by other delegates. 

Presentation Length
Submitted abstract oral presentations should be a maximum of 15 minutes in length.

Invited Oral Presentations may be between 20 – 30 minutes in length. If you are unsure please consult with your symposium organiser.

Poster Presentation narrations should be a maximum of 5 minutes in length. 

How do I record an audio narration for my presentation?
Please see the links below for help on how to record a narration for your presentation:

General Information 

Windows Instructions          Mac OS Instructions

Will student travel grants be awarded for the virtual meeting?
As no travel will be involved student travel grants will not be awarded for CRYO2020. We encourage all students to apply for travel grants in 2021.

Will the Dayong Gao Young Investigator (DGYI) Award be presented in 2020?
Yes, the Awards Committee will announce the DGYI award winner in due course.

Will the Crystal Award and Best Poster Award be presented?
Yes, both student awards will proceed. More information will be released soon.

What security measures are being put in place for the virtual meeting?
The meeting will take place using Zoom and Whova. All delegates will require a password to access CRYO2020 in Whova.

Oral presentation videos will be embedded and available to view in Whova only. Direct links will not be revealed.

Zoom links will be embedded in Whova. Delegates are not permitted to share Zoom links on social media or to any person. Zoom sessions will have a panel of co-host moderators to allow registered delegates access into the session.

Additional security measures will be announced in due course. 

You can learn more about Whova HERE